Department of Nano-Photonics and Metamaterials

Head of the department:
Pavel Belov

The Department of Nanophotonics and Metamaterials was established on April 1, 2015. The Department is headed by Pavel Belov, PhD in physics and mathematics, Prize winner of the Russian Federation Presidential Award in the field of science and innovation for young scientists. Fundamental and applied research in physics and nanophotonics metamaterials conducted at the department by the Department have brought radical change to the construction concept of the optical and microwave components in modern information and telecommunication technologies. 

The Department was based on the Metamaterials Laboratory, which was established in 2010 with support of the Russian Federation Government grant designed to aid the scientific research projects supervised by the leading scientists invited from abroad. The Head recipient of this grant was Prof. Yuri Semenovich Kivshar - Academician of Australian Academy of Sciences, author of over 800 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals; 284 of his articles were published in the last five years.  Nowadays, Y. S. Kivshar holds a position of a research advisor of the International Research Center for Nanophotonics and Metamaterials of ITMO University.

Metamaterials are new composite materials with unique properties suitable for application in various fields such as photonics, optics, telecommunications, medicine and energy.